Shabab Alahli Super Cup Champion

Shabab Alahli became the  record title winners of Arabian Gulf Super Cup in UAE after defeating Sharjah 1-0 thanks to Mohammed Marzooq’s last-minute goal at Al Maktoum Stadium on Friday night.

just two minutes from the kickoff Shabab Alahli striker Igor Jesus,  received a cross inside the box, but his close-range effort went wide.

Shabab Alahli continued to push for an opening goal, as they saw Abdulaziz Sanqour force Sharjah keeper Adel Al Hosani into a save on the 20-minute mark. Carlos Eduardo then missed another chance to break the deadlock in the 37th minute with a poor effort from the edge of the box.

The early minutes of the second half saw Al Hosani deny Shabab Alahli from taking the lead and Shabab Alahli defense block two successive attempts from Sharjah. Both teams looked cautious afterwards, as most of the play was limited to midfield with few chances created on both sides in the next 20 minutes.

With 20 minutes to go, Yahya Al Ghassani failed to put his foot through the ball following an impressive individual effort from Carlos Eduardo.

After reviewing the VAR, referee Hamad Ali turned down a penalty appeal for Shabab Alahli in the 86th minute. Walid Abbas nearly won it for Shabab Alahli in injury time with a powerful effort from inside the box, but his strike went over the bar.

Just when things seemed to be headed into a penalty shootout, substitute Mohamed Marzooq sent home an inch-perfect header that left Al Hosani helpless and handed Shabab Alahli the Arabian Gulf Super Cup title.